Writer’s Log #13: Nice to Meet You

By Joe Dyton

Hello! It’s been a little over a week since my last post. I’ve been traveling and had a few deadlines to meet, but I am back to what I hope will be a regular writing schedule. 

Over the past week, I’ve been hard at work looking for new writing clients. I’ve gotten some responses; they have varied from, “Thanks for the email, we’ll keep your information on file should the need arise” to “We don’t have a freelance budget right now.” It’s frustrating at times, but I know if I want to make a freelance writing career happen, I have to keep reaching out to companies, publications, etc.

As I’ve mentioned, along with looking for clients I have been reading up on how to expand my business, where to find clients, etc. One of my resources has been Shawndra Russell’s “How to Become a Freelance Writer in 30 Days”. Last night, I explored Step #13 which is to join your local Chamber of Commerce. According to Russell, it’s a great way to make contacts and meet potential writing clients. You might even get a chance to write for the Chamber of Commerce itself.

Before I wrote a check to join, I wanted to see what it was all about. Luckily, my local Chamber held a happy hour for young professionals which it allowed me to attend. I’m glad that I went; I got to meet some interesting people from a wide range of professional backgrounds; water cooler sales, public strategy companies, medical centers, home renovations and more. If you’re looking for a way to meet potential clients outside of the usual email/phone/mail route; I recommend looking into your local Chamber of Commerce. If it holds networking events like mine does, you’ll be in a room full of people who work for businesses that could use a writer. A couple of people I met told me that their companies were a little shorthanded when it came to writers. My hope is I will be able to help them down the road.

I decided that I am going to join my local Chamber of Commerce. Here’s hoping it leads to some new business and friendships.

The Links:

Courtney Jones provides 5 do’s and don’ts for handling your copywriting client’s feedback.

No clips? Linda Formichelli has 6 ways to convince an editor to hire you anyway.

It’s Tax Time! John Soares offers up 8 ways to lower your 2013 freelance writer tax bill.

Tom Ewer explains how to make $150 or more per hour as a freelance blogger.

Joe Dyton (@dyton99) is a freelance journalist and copywriter in Washington, DC. He may be reached at dytonwande@gmail.com.

 

Leave a Reply

