The Aspiring Freelancer; Writer’s Log #1

By Joe Dyton

Hello!

As you can see, this is The Aspiring Freelancer blog. I decided to start this because I would like to have my own freelance writing business. I’ve stopped and started this quest over the years, but have never really put all I had into it. I wanted to change that this year. I thought the best way to make sure I stick with it is to make myself accountable. So, my plan is to report on my progress every day this year, starting today, January 1, 2014. Some posts may be longer than others; I may just mention I reached out to 10 clients on a particular day. Other posts might go into more detail; the main thing is that I’m doing something every day to turn my dream of building a business into a reality.

As for a little bit about me; I started writing in 1999. I am currently a full-time marketing copywriter in Washington, DC. I have also written for a few daily newspapers, a national real estate magazine and provided content for several websites. As for my business, I’m looking to write in just about any capacity; articles, marketing materials, websites, press releases, you name it. The hope is by the end of the year, I’ll have a decent-sized roster of steady clients.

I also read a lot about freelance writing; ways to go about it from a business end and ways to improve my writing. When I come across good articles on either, I’ll be sure to include them in my posts. Here are a few blogs I follow that I find informative and inspirational:

Carol Tice’s Make a Living Writing

Linda¬†Formichelli’s The Renegade Writer

Peter Bowerman’s The Well-Fed Writer

Tom Ewer’s Leaving Work Behind

If you’re an aspiring freelance writer like me, these are just a handful of resources out there to help you get started. I recommend following these sites like I do, but I’ll also be adding links to various articles that are posted on them.

So, that should do it for Day One. I just wanted to introduce myself and give you an idea about what this blog is all about. Please feel free to comment and ask questions. I may not have the answer, but I’ll be happy to find someone who does.

Happy New Year! Thanks for reading!

–Joe

Joe Dyton is a freelance journalist and copywriter in Washington, DC. He can be reached at dytonwande@gmail.com. You may also follow him on Twitter, @dyton99.

2 comments

  1. Pingback: Common Mistakes Freelancers Make When Bidding For Jobs | Adrian Cruce's Blog
  2. Pingback: Writer’s Log #22: Take Two | The Aspiring Freelancer

Leave a Reply

