Writer’s Log #4: Making a list and checking it twice

By Joe Dyton

I love the first two weekends of the NFL playoffs.

What does that have to do with freelance writing? Nothing really, but I love the first two weekends because I get to watch football on Saturday AND Sunday for one thing. But what I really love is the Saturday set-up; unlike Sundays where games start at 1 p.m. Eastern, the Saturday games don’t start until 4:30.

Again, what does this have to do with freelance writing? On the surface not much, but a 4:30 start gives me so much more time to get things done before the games start. Today I used that time to put together a list of companies and publications to call next week to offer my writing services. I was also able to send out 10 more resumes/letters of introduction. Granted, I would have done something today to help build my business, but it felt great to know I had all afternoon to work on my business and once I was done there was football to watch. What a great day!

I do have a question for you; when you email a company to offer your writing services, do you ever use the company’s info@company.com address to send your LOI and resume? I use it if I can’t find an actual person from the company’s email and hope that my info eventually gets into the right hands. If you’ve had success after sending your info to a company’s general email address, let me know in the comments section.

I was about to say today was a successful one, but let’s call it a productive one instead. It’ll be successful if the companies I emailed respond and if I can get some work from the companies I have on the call list I compiled this afternoon.

The Links:

Laura Spencer explains why online content is so important for businesses.

Sophie Lizard shows how you can make your writing addictive to readers.

Daryl George says these are four blogging rules that you need to break.

Thanks for reading! Enjoy the weekend, everyone!

Joe Dyton is a freelance journalist and copywriter in Washington, DC. He can be reached at dytonwande@gmail.com. Follow Joe on Twitter @dyton99.

3 comments

  1. Pingback: Writer’s Log #5: Easy Like Sunday Morning | The Aspiring Freelancer

Leave a Reply

