Writer’s Log #5: Easy Like Sunday Morning

By Joe Dyton

Between my marketing efforts yesterday and waking up with a splitting headache this morning, I didn’t do too much with my writing business today. I didn’t want the whole day to go by without having done anything though, so I did the next step in the freelance writing book I’m currently reading; Shawndra Russell’s “How to Become a Freelance Writer in 30 Days”. I’m currently on Day 11, which calls for creating or updating your current Twitter account. I already have a Twitter account, so I updated my bio to read that I’m a freelance journalist and copywriter, author of this blog and co-host of The GD Podcast. It’s a great read, and I recommend it to anyone who’s looking to break into freelance writing.

Sorry I don’t have more to report today, but I feel I will this upcoming week when I dive into the call list I put together yesterday and hopefully start hearing back from the companies I have emailed recently. My hope with this blog is that it just won’t be “I emailed X companies or called Z publications” each day. My vision is to also talk about the assignments I get and tell tales of negotiating with potential clients when I do get work. I also hope to get questions and comments from you guys that I can incorporate into my posts, so please don’t be shy!

The Links:

I plan to enter the 83rd Annual Writer’s Digest Writing Competition. How about you?

Need help launching your freelance writing business? Check out Peter Bowerman’s The Well-Fed Group Coaching Program.

Ed Gandia lists Seven Simple Success Strategies to Implement in 2014.

Enjoy the rest of your weekend and have a great week, everybody! Thanks for reading!

-Joe

Joe Dyton is freelance journalist and copywriter in Washington, DC. He can be reached at dytonwande@gmail.com. Follow Joe on Twitter @dyton99.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

