Writer’s Log #8 (Job) Board to Death

By Joe Dyton

I have to admit, I was a little lazy with my marketing efforts today. After a long day at the full-time job and getting interviews set up for my article that’s due on Friday, I didn’t have a lot left in the tank to go searching for work. I was tempted just to take the night off, but instead decided to hit up the old job boards to look for clients. I know that’s not ideal, but I figured job board-based marketing is better than no marketing. My job board of choice tonight was JournalismJobs.com. I sent resumes to about a dozen or so publications; if I could get an assignment from one of them, I’ll consider it time well-spent. Please don’t judge; I’ll go back to looking for clients organically in the next day or two, I promise!

I’m not sure if I’ll be able to do a post tomorrow, as much as I’d like to. I will be on assignment tomorrow evening covering a high school basketball game. Who knows, maybe I’ll be able to do a short post about what happened at the game. I’d hate to break my blogging streak so early in the game!

So, what’s the verdict? Is it better to hit the job boards to look for freelance work if you’re not up for searching for companies to market your services to every so often? Or is it better just to take those nights off? Sound off below!

The Links:

Find your Freelance Writing Niche with this course taught by John Soares.

Yvelette Stines suggests three books to help light your creative fire.

Scott Levy shows how to attract the right kind of Twitter audience.

Jon Morrow writes an outstanding open letter to writers struggling to find their courage. I’m going to read this any time I’m thinking of giving up my dream of building my own writing business.

Joe Dyton (@dyton99) is a freelance journalist and copywriter in Washington, DC. He can be reached at dytonwande@gmail.com.

One comment

  1. Pingback: Writer’s Log #9: Hard Day’s Night(s) | The Aspiring Freelancer

Leave a Reply

