Writer’s Log #14: Month in Review

By Joe Dyton

Well, today is the final day of January so I just wanted to do a state of union-type post. To be honest, January wasn’t so great in terms building my writing business. I landed zero new clients; I know my goal was to get at least one new client every two months so I have all of February to still get one, but I would have felt a lot better if someone had hired me. Unfortunately, I all I got were responses like, “We don’t have a need right now, but we’ll keep your info on file.” to flat out, “We don’t use freelance writers.” It was a frustrating month for sure. I almost gave up on all of this, but that’s what I’ve done in the past; go hard with my marketing, get nothing out of it and stop for awhile. I promised myself I wasn’t going to do that again. So, I read Jon Morrow’s inspiring open letter again and got back to work. I’m going to stick with this all year, even if I don’t land one new client.

I looked back at my marketing efforts from this month and realized I don’t have a right to be as frustrated as I am. I sent out about 60 resumes/letter of introduction. It felt like a lot, but it’s only about two a day. That’s not going to cut it if I want to get at least one client every two months. I’m thinking I need to reach out to at least five times as many companies, publications, organizations, etc. to increase my chances of getting work.

Like I said, it was a frustrating month but I’m going to keep at it. The Aspiring Freelancer blog isn’t going anywhere. I’d still love to get your feedback; what do you think is best way to search for clients? Is there a magic number when it comes to how many people you should be marketing to a day/week/month? Are there any indicators that it’s time for an aspiring freelance writer to throw in the towel?

Thanks for reading this month. I wrote about every other day in January, but I hope to increase that frequency next month and beyond. Have a great weekend!

The Links: 

Harleena Singh gives a step-by-step breakdown on how to get magazine writing jobs.

Jodee Redmond lists 17 places freelance writers can find magazine markets.

Sara Donaldson shares 10 things you should know before you turn freelance.

Allen Taylor explains how he found four freelance writing gigs from job ads.

Joe Dyton (@dyton99) is a freelance copywriter and journalist in Washington, DC. He may be reached at dytonwande@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

