Writer’s Log #21: Challenge Accepted

By Joe Dyton

When I’m not writing or marketing my freelance writing services, I like to read up on the freelance writing craft. Whether it’s blog posts on how to find clients or tips on writing better, I enjoy reading about the topic. Whenever I read a story about someone who built a successful freelance writing business from the ground up, I’m always inspired.

I’ve read a lot of stories since I began my quest to be a full-fledged freelancer that inspired me, but recently, I came across a post that left me intrigued. It was on Angela Booth’s Fab Freelancing blog titled, “Make Money Writing: 3 Tips to Go Full-Time in 30 Days”. When I saw this headline on Twitter, I just had to read it.

If you been reading this blog since I started it in January, I’ve put myself on a year-long quest to bring in enough work to be a full-time freelance writer. I got excited about the prospect of doing it even sooner when I saw Ms. Booth’s blog post about doing it in 30 days.

What I liked about the post was it was honest; you can’t just wave a magic wand and get work, you have to hustle. I’ve been hustling, but not as much as I should be, and I’m curious to see if I push as hard as Ms. Booth suggests if I can bring in a full-time wage in 30 days. She mentioned she gave someone advice to make 200 calls and when the person said nothing was happening, Ms. Booth told her to make 200 more calls. By the 219th call, the person had landed a pair of clients, one of which was an ongoing gig. When I read that, I realized I’m not doing nearly enough to get more work.

So, I’m using this month to make my 200 calls. I may split that between emails and phone calls, but either way, I’m going to reach out to at least 200 companies, publications, etc. in August. I sent out 20 letters of interest over the weekend to jumpstart the experiment. Hopefully, my messages will be at the top of everyone’s inbox when they get to work on Monday morning.

My favorite line in Ms. Booth’s post is the one I need to remember while I’m making these 200 calls, “Even if it seems that nothing is happening, something is.” I have to remain positive even if I don’t hear back from people right away.

So it begins: 30 days, 200 calls and the chance to earn a full-time wage. 

Challenge accepted.

The Links:

Day job have you down? Taylor Gordon explains how it can help you launch your freelance career.

Carol Tice has five ways you can find freelance writing jobs on Twitter.

Pamela Wilson shares simple eight tips to get more people to read your content.

Joe Dyton (@dyton99) is a freelance journalist and copywriter in Washington, DC. He can be reached at dytonwande@gmail.com.

 
Preferences
§
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
0
=
Backspace
 
Tab
q
w
e
r
t
y
u
i
o
p
[
]
 
Return
 
 
capslock
a
s
d
f
g
h
j
k
l
;
\
 
shift
`
z
x
c
v
b
n
m
,
.
/
shift
 
 
English
 
 
alt
 
alt
 
 
Preferences
2 comments

  1. Pingback: Writer’s Log #22: Take Two | The Aspiring Freelancer

Leave a Reply

